Four-Wheel Carriage A.12

One of the first four-wheel carriages built for the opening of the Peel Line in 1873 by the Metropolitan Carriage &Wagon Co., Ltd., of Saltley in Birmingham, upon delivery of the first bogie carriages from Brown, Marshall & Co., Ltd., in 1874 this carriage was close-coupled with C.9 and later mounted onto a bogie underframe in 1926 to become F.75; these two unique carriages were both saloons, the only two delivered, and now form the Governors’ Saloon, extant in the railway museum at Port Erin where it has been exhibited since withdrawal from traffic in 1975.

Fleet Number:






A.12 (Later Paired With C.9) Thence F.75)

20 (Longitudinal Seating)

1873 (Paired 1926)

7’ 0”

Metropolitan Carriage & Wagon Co., Ltd.

17’ 0”

F.75 (A.12 Right)

Douglas, July 1970

F.75 (A.12 Right) 

Railway Museum, January 2014

F.75 (A.12 Right) 

Port Erin Station, August 1938