Station Name:

Date Opened:

Date(s) Closed:

Lines Served:


From St. John's:

Current Status:

St. Germain’s 

23rd Sept. 1879

3rd July 1961

North Line

 54.236°N 4.654°W 

2 Miles, 70 Chains

Closed & Lifted


Station Building | Passing Loop | Goods Siding | Loading Platform | Cattle Dock | Level Crossing | Gatekeepers' Lodge

A scene that changed little over many years, the station and its solitary running in board, the twin gables a feature of several stations.

Works on the site after the last trains had passed and rails were lifted in 1975, dating from two years later courtesy of Russell Pearce.

The familiar standard north line structure with its extension and corrugated iron lean-to added in later years as a passenger shelter.

Latter day view of the station looking northwards showing the isolated position of the building, a view changed little over time.

The extension is shown to good effect in this view taken long after the last trains had called at the station after conversion to a house.

During the closure in 1966 Michael Bishop captured the station and level crossing gates in a largely timeless scene.

The level crossing gates were still in situ when this view was taken in the summer of 1970, the last stock train had passed the previous year.

Viewed from the road in 1938 with the loading dock on the left, signal lever central and a neat line of traditional picket fencing.

Nature reclaiming the site after the rails were lifted with the loading dock still visible on the left and showing the exposed site.